© 2017 Fionnuala Kearney

other BOOKS

the day i lost you

The day that Jess's daughter, Anna, is reported lost in an avalanche is the day that changes everything. Left to explain her mother's absence to Anna's five year old daughter, Rose, Jess isn't yet ready to admit to herself that her daughter may not be coming back. But Anna's disappearance dredges up some life changing questions: Jess must uncover her daughter's secret life and unearth something that could change her world irrevocably.

 

The day I lost you was the day I discovered your secret life.

 

The day I lost you was the day you tore our family apart.

 

Review from Lovereading: 

One of our Books of the Year 2016.

 

A mesmerising and eloquently emotional novel exposing the complexity of relationships and the hidden, the things left unsaid and untold. I adored Fionnuala Kearney’s debut novel, so was very much looking forward to ‘The Day I Lost You’. She has the ability to see beneath normality, to the darker side within, and she writes with the perfect blend of heartbreak and hope. 48 year old Jess’s daughter Anna is reported missing in an avalanche, releasing a deluge of hurt, suspicion and the discovery of secrets. The focus remains on Jess, Anna, and Theo (their friend), their stories written in different ways, ensuring the transition from each flows, highlighting their individual thoughts and emotions. The supporting cast of characters are beautifully realised and makes this wonderful family drama feel realistic and touchable. As little quivers of suspicion started to arise and my mind darted to and fro, Fionnuala Kearney maintained a subtle balance, encouraging me to trust my instincts, yet laying artful trip hazards along the way. ‘The Day I Lost You’ is touching, heart wrenching, and I found myself completely lost in this gorgeously written tale. ~ Liz Robinson

 

October 2016 Book of the Month.

Buy now at:

You, me & other people

They say every family has skeletons in their closet… But what happens when you open the door and they won’t stop tumbling out? For Adam and Beth, the first secret wasn’t the last, it was just the beginning and some secrets – they change everything.  Then the question is, how can you piece together a future when your past is being rewritten?

 

“An astute and accomplished debut which will make you think long after you have reached the last page.” 

 

ULSTER TATLER
 
“This book would be an incredible achievement for any author, but for a debut author, it’s nothing short of stunning.”  

 

CLAUDIA CARROLL
 
“Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Liane Moriarty…wise, funny, perceptive and often unbearably sad.”  

 

IRISH WORLD

Buy now at:

  • Instagram - White Circle
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon